Provisional Voting

Provisional Voting (Fail-Safe Voting)

Section 302 of the Help America Vote Act (HAVA) (42 U.S.C. §15482) creates the right for a potential voter to utilize a provisional ballot in a federal election. Nevada Revised Statute (NRS 293.3081) permits a person at a polling place to cast a provisional ballot if the person complies with the applicable provisions of NRS 293.3082 and:
   1. Declares that he or she has registered to vote and is eligible to vote at that election in that jurisdiction, but his or her name does not appear on a voter registration list as a voter eligible to vote in that election in that jurisdiction or an election official asserts that the person is not eligible to vote in that election in that jurisdiction;
   2. Applies by mail or computer, on or after January 1, 2003, to register to vote and has not previously voted in an election for federal office in this State and fails to provide the identification required pursuant to paragraph (a) of subsection 1 of NRS 293.2725 to the election board officer at the polling place; or
   3. Declares that he or she is entitled to vote after the polling place would normally close as a result of a court order or other order extending the time established for the closing of polls pursuant to a law of this State in effect 10 days before the date of the election.

Individuals that were issued a provisional ballot can check the status of their ballot with the unique affirmation number issued to them at the polling place. Individuals can call (877) 766-8683 or use the following Provisional Ballot Status link to look up their unique affirmation number. For more information about provisional ballots, please contact the county election office for the county in which the provisional ballot was cast. Provisional Ballot Status information is available beginning on the eighth day after the election and is available for 30 days.

2018 Primary Election Provisional Ballot Status 

Statewide General Election Provisional Ballot Reports
2018 Primary Election
2016 General Election
2014 General Election

2012 General Election
2010 General Election
2008 General Election