Thank you for your interest in the implementation of NRS 122A, which allows for the registration of domestic partnerships to be filed with the office of the Secretary of State. This law went into effect October 1, 2009.
A “domestic partnership” in Nevada is a civil contract which grants domestic partners “…the same rights, protections, benefits, responsibilities, obligations and duties as…parties to any other civil contract….”
Domestic partnerships were established in the 75th Session of the Nevada State Legislature as NRS 122A for the purpose of defining the rights and responsibilities of such partnerships. Although NRS 122A includes a requirement that parties in a domestic partnership “Have chosen to share one another’s lives in an intimate and committed relationship of mutual caring,” a domestic partnership is not a marriage for the purposes of Section 21 of Article 1 of the Nevada Constitution.
Individuals wishing to register as domestic partners under Nevada’s new law must file a Domestic Partnership Declaration Registration Form (see below). This one-page form must be filled out completely and the signatures of each partner notarized separately. The registration fee of $50 includes a black and white certificate. A ceremonial certificate is available for an additional $15. Partners must also indicate if they would like to pick up their certificate in person or have it mailed to them. Completed declaration forms can be mailed to the Secretary of State’s Las Vegas office or dropped off there or at the Carson City office in person.
Pursuant to Assembly Bill 227 of the 2017 Nevada Legislative Session, effective July 1, 2017, individuals who have a legal union that was validly formed in another jurisdiction which is substantially equivalent to a domestic partnership in NRS 122A.030, are no longer required to file with the Office of the Secretary of State. Click here to read Assembly Bill 227.
Two-hour expedited processing of Domestic Partnership Registrations, which guarantees couples their certificate on the same day, is available by appointment only. Please call 702-486-2887 (Las Vegas) or 775-684-5743 (Carson City) between the hours of 8:00 am and 5:00 pm Monday to Friday to set up an appointment. There is an additional $100 fee for expedited service.
Forms are available online at www.nvsos.gov or at the Secretary of State’s Carson City or Las Vegas offices.
Domestic Partnership Forms: