To run for a judicial office in the State of Nevada, you must meet the following requirements:
- Be a bona fide resident of the State of Nevada for two years next preceding the election;
- Be a qualified elector pursuant to Section 1 of Article 2 of the Constitution of the State of Nevada;
- Be 25 years of age at the time of the election; and
- Be an attorney licensed and admitted to practice law in the courts in the State of Nevada, another state, or District of Columbia for not less than 15 years at any time preceding election or appointment, at least two years of which have been in Nevada, if filing for candidacy for the Nevada Supreme Court; or
- Be an attorney licensed and admitted to practice law in the courts in the State of Nevada, another state, or District of Columbia for not less than 10 years at any time preceding election or appointment, at least two years of which have been in Nevada, if filing for candidacy for Nevada District Court.
JUDICIAL CANDIDATE FILINGS DATES
Candidacy declaration forms are accepted in January for a 10-day period.
Tuesday, January 2, 2018 to Friday, January 12, 2018 (by 5 p.m.)
WHERE DO I FILE?
The Secretary of State is the filing officer for all statewide offices, and those offices that are elected from districts comprised of more than one county. The county clerk or the registrar of voters is the filing officer for county and township offices and for any offices elected from districts completely within one county or part of one county. (NRS 293.185) The city clerk is the filing officer for offices that are elected in municipal elections. (NRS 293C.175)
IS AN APPOINTMENT REQUIRED?
Appointments are helpful so we may be prepared for your visit and to avoid having to wait to be seen by your Filing Officer, but they are not required. To schedule an appointment with the Secretary of State’s office, please call (775) 684-5705.
To schedule an appointment with your County Clerk or Registrar of Voters, click here to find the contact information.
To schedule an appointment with your City Clerk, click here to find the contact information.
WHAT PAPERWORK MUST I COMPLETE?
Candidates must complete various forms, such as the appropriate Declaration of Candidacy form, and submit it to the proper filing officer. When filing with the Secretary of State's office, you must complete the paperwork in person at our Carson City or Las Vegas office.
WHAT TYPE OF IDENTIFICATION DO I NEED TO FILE?
You should bring a current driver’s license displaying your current residential address. If you do not have a driver’s license, bring documentation that contains your current residential address. Acceptable documentation includes a utility bill, bank statement, or paycheck.
WHAT IS THE FILING FEE?
The filing fee for each judicial office is listed below.
|Justice of Supreme Court||$300|
|Appeals Court Judge||$200|
|Justice of the Peace||$100|
WHAT FORMS OF PAYMENT ARE ACCEPTED?
Filing fees must be paid in cash, cashier’s check, or certified check. Personal or campaign checks and credit cards are not accepted. For candidates who file with the Secretary of State's office, the cashier or certified check must be made payable to the Nevada Secretary of State.
If filing with a county or city clerk or registrar of voters, check with that office to confirm acceptable forms of payment.
WHAT ELSE DO I NEED TO KNOW AS A CANDIDATE?
According to CANON 4 of the Nevada Code of Judicial Conduct, a judge or candidate for judicial office shall not be engaged in political or campaign activity that is inconsistent with the independence, integrity, or impartiality of the judiciary.
All candidates are required to disclosure their contributions and campaign expenditures (C&E) with the Secretary of State’s Office. C&E Reports are filed five times throughout the year during an election year, and then annually, if needed. For a more detailed description about C&E Reports, click here.
A candidate for judicial office must file a Financial Disclosure Statement (FDS) with the Administrative office of the Court (AOC) no later than January 22, 2018.
Each justice, judge, and senior judge is required to file a Financial Disclosure Statement (FDS) with the Administrative office of the Court (AOC) on or before March 31, 2018 for the preceding calendar year of the judge's term. For a more detailed description about the FDS, click here.