Skip to page body Home Information Center Election Center Business Center Licensing Center Securities Center Online Services

Press Releases

News Review
Secretary of State Ross Miller Announces Couples May Pre-file Domestic Partnership Registrations Beginning August 24
Posted Date: 8/18/2009
Partners Who Pre-file by Sept. 24 will receive their certificate
on Oct. 1, the day domestic partnerships become legal in Nevada

(Carson City, NV; August 18, 2009) – Secretary of State Ross Miller today announced
that couples wishing to register as domestic partners under Nevada’s new law may pre-file their
declaration between August 24 and September 24 to receive their state certificate on October 1st,
the day the law becomes effective. Secretary Miller said many Nevada couples have been
waiting for the day when they could obtain the legal rights and responsibilities of domestic
partnership and will want to take early advantage of the new law.

“October 1st will be an historic day in Nevada,” Secretary Miller said. “We would like as
many couples as possible to be a part of it by having their certificates in hand. My office will
work hard to make it a special day for them.”

Heterosexual or same-sex couples wishing to enter into a domestic partnership, a type of
civil contract, can download the declaration form from the Secretary of State’s website at
www.nvsos.gov. The one-page form must be filled out completely and the signatures of both
partners notarized. The registration fee of $50 includes a black and white certificate. A
ceremonial certificate is available for an additional $15. Couples must also indicate if they
would like to pick up their certificate in person or have it mailed to them. Completed declaration
forms can be mailed to the Secretary of State’s Las Vegas office or dropped off there or at the
Carson City office in person.

“I am very pleased with the progress our State has made in recognizing that certain
protections must be made available to those who cannot or choose not to be married,” Secretary
Miller said. “My office has dedicated a lot of resources to making the official registration
process as streamlined as possible. We’d like to recognize and thank the many people who are
helping us get the word out about the pre-registration process. October 1st is shaping up to be a
very important and festive day for many Nevadans.”

Couples may file their completed domestic partnership form in person on October 1st, but
are not guaranteed to receive their certificate that day. Processing times for declarations that are
filed in person or by mail after October 1st may vary depending on the volume of forms received.
Detailed information and the declaration form are available under the Licensing Center at
www.nvsos.gov.