Skip to page body Home Information Center Election Center Business Center Licensing Center Securities Center Online Services

Confidential Address Program

Who is Eligible?
Do I have to be a resident of Nevada?
If I'm relocating to Nevada, how do I become a participant?
How does CAP work?
Will the address work for all business agreements?
What if there is a child custody issue?
Is information released over the phone?
Can I still register to vote?
How do I apply?
How long can I be in the program?
How can my agency become certified?
How often are agencies trained?

Q: Who is Eligible?
A:
Anyone who is a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault or attempted sexual assault, as well as their dependents can apply.
Q: Do I have to be a resident of Nevada?
A:
Yes, although there is no minimum time requirement.
Q: If I'm relocating to Nevada, how do I become a participant?
A:
When you know what area of Nevada you will be locating to, you can contact 888-432-6189 to get the name & number of certified agencies that will be nearest to your new location.
Q: How does CAP work?
A:
CAP participants are granted the use of a fictitious mailing address. When victims enter into business relationships with state and local agencies, the use of the fictitious address both maintains the victims' confidentiality and relieves those agencies of the difficult and costly responsibilities of maintaining confidential records. CAP participants benefit by significantly reducing the risk of being physically located through public records.
Q: Will the address work for all business agreements?
A:
State agencies & public schools currently accept the fictitious address, as well as some private entities.
Q: What if there is a child custody issue?
A:
This is a judicial issue, child custody issues must be dealt with on the judicial level; however current participants have made arrangements to meet at neutral locations (i.e. police departments) to drop off and pick up the dependents.
Q: Is information released over the phone?
A:
Information is never released over the phone or in person. Information will only be released by court order or to law enforcement agencies upon verification that the request is legitimate. CAP will however confirm participation verbally after establishing requesting agencies need for the confirmation.
Q: Can I still register to vote?
A:
The participant has the option of confidential voter registration. Voter registration requests received by the Secretary of State are deemed a permanent absent ballot request. An absent ballot will be sent for every election that the participant is eligible to vote in until they are no longer in the program or cancel their registration.
Q: How do I apply?
A:
Your program advocate may assist you in applying to CAP. You may only apply through certified advocate groups, law enforcement agencies and some local and state government offices. To locate the nearest certified agency, please call CAP Toll Free at 1-888-432-6189.
Q: How long can I be in the program?
A:
The program has an expiration of 4 years. Prior to the 4 year expiration, CAP will send out a questionnaire to determine if you still need to utilize the program for another 4 years. There is no maximum amount of time that one can be a participant.
Q: How can my agency become certified?
A:
Upon request, the CAP office may certify individual organizations or agencies who offer a primary service to victims of domestic violence or sexual assault. Prior to being certified, the organization and appropriate staff member(s) receive CAP training. Organizations or agencies who are interested in becoming certified or anyone who would like to refer an appropriate organization or agency are encouraged to contact CAP at 1-888-432-6189
Q: How often are agencies trained?
A:
All certified agencies and their personnel will continue to receive training on an annual basis.