In order to process applications timely, please make sure you submit a completed application and any required documentation. Failure to do so, will result in your application being rejected.
Recently, legislation was passed which affects notarial law. Those changes are as follows:
• All new notary applicants will now be required to take and pass an exam as part of the notary training requirement.
• The notary training has dropped to 3 hours in length.
• The notary training and exam are now allowed to be offered online and will transition to an online format within the next 3 months (date subject to change).
• Those renewing their notary commission will now be required to take a notary training and pass a notary exam. If your notary commission expires before November 2015, you may renew immediately, but will be required to take a training and exam on or before November 30, 2015 to keep your commission in good standing.
• The notary application has been updated to reflect new required information from applicants.
Online webcam notarizations are not permitted in the State of Nevada. A person seeking a notarization is required to personally appear before a notary public and sign the document in the presence of the notary. Appearance via a webcam or other electronic medium such as Skype does not meet Nevada’s law governing personal appearance. Please be aware of any online notarization service being offered by a private company. If you have any questions, please contact the Notary Division at 775-684-5708.
How to Become a Nevada Notary if you are a Resident of Nevada
To become a notary in the state, you must: (1) be a U.S. citizen or a lawfully admitted permanent resident; (2) be at least 18 years of age; (3) be a resident of the state; (4) possess your civil rights (a felon cannot be a notary); and (5) have never had your notary commission revoked in another state. You must attend a 3-hour notary training class through the Secretary of State’s Notary Division and pass an exam. You must also enter into a bond to the State of Nevada in the sum of $10,000. The bond is filed with the county clerk of the county in which you reside. You are then given your oath of public office and the clerk gives you a filing notice. You must submit a notary application, filing notice, and an application fee of $35 to the Secretary of State. The Secretary of State will then issue a Certificate of Appointment.
Each notary must obtain a stamp for authenticating notarial acts. You will need a certified copy of your Certificate of Appointment to obtain a notary stamp. You must also maintain a journal of all transactions. Your application remains on file with the Secretary of State.
How to Become a Nevada Notary if you are a Resident of a Bordering State
To become a non-resident notary, you must meet the same qualifications as stated above, except you must be a resident of a bordering state instead of Nevada and you must be employed in Nevada. You will submit two affidavits. You will need to submit the "Non-resident Notary Public Affidavit" and your employer will need to complete the "Affidavit of Applicant's Employer." If you are self-employed, you will complete the "Affidavit of Self-Employer Applicant." In addition, you must provide a copy of the Nevada State Business license from the company in which you are employed.
The only states that qualify as a bordering state are as follows:California, Oregon, Utah, Idaho & Arizona.
Follow the same procedure as above, submitting the appropriate affidavits with your application, a copy of the Nevada State Business License, filing notice, and application fee to the Secretary of State.
For additional questions regarding notary public appointments, please contact 775-684-5708.